Español Português

You are here

European Delegated Prosecutors

The European Delegated Prosecutors are magistrates, as defined in the respective statutes (article 13(d)) of the Statute of the Public Prosecution Service/SPPS and 18(1), of Law 112/2019, of 10/9). They represent the European Public Prosecutor's Office (EPPO) in all national instances in which criminal proceedings are conducted for which the European Public Prosecutor's Office exercises its jurisdiction (Article 18/2 of Law 119/2019).

The position of European Delegated Prosecutor is held by Public Prosecution Service magistrates, appointed by order of the Government member responsible for the area of justice (article 15(1) of Law 112/2019). The Hight Council of the Public Prosecution Service is responsible for select and nominate two candidates for each European Delegate Prosecutor for the purpose of their appointment by the College of the European Public Prosecutor's Office (article 15(2)(3) of Law 112/2019)

The European Delegated Prosecutors preferentially perform their duties on an exclusive basis and their duties, in this case, are performed on temporary assignment (articles 17(2) and 18(3) of Law 112/2019).

They have their place of work in Lisbon and Porto (article 18(5) of Law 112/2019) and their term of office is five years and may be renewed (article 18(4) of Law 112/2019).