Español Português

You are here

County District Prosecutors' Offices

The judicial system implemented on 01 September 2014 pursuant to Law No. 62/2013 of 26 August 2013 caused the national territory to be divided into 23 judicial counties [Açores, Aveiro, Beja, Braga, Bragança, Castelo Branco, Coimbra, Évora, Faro, Guarda, Leiria, Lisboa, Lisboa Norte, Lisboa Oeste, Madeira, Portalegre, Porto, Porto Este, Santarém, Setúbal, Viana do Castelo, Vila Real and Viseu]. Both the seat/territorial area of intervention of the judicial counties — which corresponds to the seat of the administrative districts as a rule — and their composition are governed by Decree-Law No. 49/2014 of 27 March 2014.

Each of these judicial counties has its first instance court (named ‘county court’), which is divided into central units (each composed of civil, criminal, examining, family and minors, labour, commerce and recovery specialised sections) and local units (each composed of civil, criminal and petty crime general sections and proximity sections) (articles 33 and 81of Law No.62/2013 of 26 August 2013).

At the seat of each county (marked on the map) there is a County District Prosecutors’ Office which is entrusted with the leadership, the management, the operation, the co-ordination and the supervision of the Public Prosecution Service’s activities and services in that circumscription.

Each County District Prosecutor’s Office comprises the members of the Public Prosecution Service holding office therein (and eventually the non-member agents), as well as the justice officers assigned to the respective services, being led by a co-ordinating member of the Public Prosecution Service (ranked as Deputy Prosecutor General or District Prosecutor), who is appointed by the High Council of the Public Prosecution Service. His powers are laid down in Article 101 of Law No. 62/2013 of 26 August 2013.